The Trap


I asked my mother why we had nothing…
was this to be my life?
She scowled; then smiling
she picked up her cell phone
eyes glazed over, I disappeared from her view.
I watched
as mechanically she dialed the phone
placing an order from her pharmacist
then praising the man who
gave her twenty minutes… by phone.

My future played out before me…
I would follow in my mother’s footsteps…
there was nothing there.
Her fix came… I grabbed it and
inhaled it all. My eyes glazed over
and my family disappeared from my view.

As I looked down, an instant replay unfolded…
my former body lying on the floor
TV blaring daytime buffoonery… shaping…
I watched…
she scowled; then smiling
she picked up her cell phone
eyes glazed over, I disappeared from her view.
Mechanically she dialed the phone
placing an order from her pharmacist
then praised the man who
gave her twenty minutes… by phone.

4 thoughts on “The Trap

  1. Wow!!! Definitely different for you, Steve, but exceptionally well written. Conjures just the images I’m sure you were writing about. Kudos!!!!

Leave a Reply

