Time Spent Wisely


It runs, twisting, turning
on an endless course
as if trying to find something…
conjuring up an image of
youngsters frantically going through
index files in the school library;

perhaps a key punch operator
trying to decipher what was just entered
on a blank computer card; or
going through a Sears and Roebuck catalog
looking for that one particular item.

No… it is my mind’s eye
on a journey, traveling through memories
of what makes me who I am
giving meaning to why I am here…
reminding me of things done badly
and lessons learned;
things done well, and things not done at all
as I strive to be worthy
of the time given me.

2 thoughts on “Time Spent Wisely

Leave a Reply

