The Box


Like a prized possession
I kept it in a shoebox
away in a corner
hidden out of sight…
but without checking
how could I know
that like a fine brandy
it would grow richer with time.

Remembering her
I dug it out
handling it so carefully
blowing off the dust
wondering what I might find inside.
A quick peek
to satisfy my curiosity…
now I am blind.

Like a huge explosion
white light saturates my eyes,
my mind vibrates from concussion,
deaf, I cannot hear
making clear thought impossible
yet I press on
in a callous and thoughtless way.

What damage have I done…

Sight, sound, and thought
slowly return.
I see and understand
what I could not before
and tremble at the thought
that all might be lost.

My thoughts
like a broken record play;
what damage have I done…
what damage have I done…
what damage have I done…

Leave a Reply

