Waiting to Exhale


I breathe deeply
filling my lungs to capacity with life
so good is it I want to take in more
keeping every memory locked within
so much stored inside I feel I shall explode

My addiction to life is overpowering
my life already so full yet
I struggle to take in more
life pumped through my veins
my drug of choice

So much I have seen and done
two life time’s worth in so short a time
countries seen, jobs done, people known… tranquil my life
I shall hold my breath until my time is done
Waiting to exhale; my life set free.

6 thoughts on “Waiting to Exhale

    • Thank you Lauren. As far back as I can remember I’ve always gotten high off life. So much to see and do. The more I experience the more I realize how much more there is to see and do. Even the hard times bring good things in the end if you are wise enough to stand tall and seek the fruits of those lessons. I’ve slacked off on poetry for awhile. I’m trying to finish my 2nd book.. this one on my 20 years in the military. Even with most of the stories being put into draft 2 – 3 years ago, I’m still having trouble finding time to edit and post them to my “tidbits” blog. Hope to be back to poetry in a little while.

Leave a comment